Recommended used Nikon DSLR for use by a neighbor

marklcooper

<p>My 15 year old neighbor showed aptitude and interest when I handed him my D300 with grip and 17-55 2.8 for the first time and asked him to take my picture for a photo ID. </p>

<p>I'm contemplating purchasing a used camera and lens to loan him while we go out on some local walkabouts. The D300 is my first DSLR. I have no knowledge about the D40's, 50's, 60's, 70's, and 80's. I do know the D90 new or used is more than I'm willing to spend. I do not anticipate using this camera myself. This is to help a troubled youth try to find something he is interested in. I don't know if he will lean towards landscapes, street photography, candids, or something else.</p>

<p>So, what is a good entry level used DSLR with one general purpose zoom lens?</p>

<p>I will not have Internet access until next Wednesday if anyone asks any further questions after tonight.</p>

<p>Thanks in advance,<br>

Mark</p>

<p>I am touched by your post.... very nice of you....<br>

I would go for a new or used D80. That was my first Nikon camera. A d200 would do a good job too. As far as lenses I would go for the kit lens 18-70 or 18-135. About a flash, I don't know what you already have. Depending on that an SB600 could do.... if you are all set up with flash heads then an SB400 is an inexpensive one.<br>

good luck with your project....</p>

<p>Mark, D40, D80, D200...it doesn't matter. What a tremendously generous and helpful plan. What will matter the most is the time you spend with him, teaching him and helping him to see the world with different eyes, better eyes and the beauty that is there for all of us. A great project...we should all do something similar. <br>

Best wishes,<br>

Dick</p>

<p>To me any model that has 2 control wheels and an inbuilt AF motor. This means if your neighbour (or anyone else) really gets into using the camera then they have flexibility. It also makes it a more natural backup to your D300 and kit.<br>