recommended settings to photograph in low light using nikon d7000. 18_200mm & sb600 flash

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by alex_pichardo, Jun 12, 2013.

1. Hello everyone. This weekend I'm going to be photographing and event
    in a big room where the ceiling is around 70' and ambient light is going
    to be near total darkness. There are going to be some robots disco
    lights. My gear is a Nikon d7000 18.200mm lens and the sb600 flash, a
    flash bracket and a on flash bouncer. This is my first time taking
    pictures in dark environment and I am a bit nervous because I know a
    person who took photos at same place few months ago and I don't like
    his pictures they look quite dark and the colors don't look nice at all.
    what would be some good settings to photograph in near total
    darkness? Thanks in advance!

2. Shoot raw with lens wide open at given focal length, 3200 or 6400 asa. I do not believe that flash will help You, depending on what You shoot, i.e. is there something going on on podium, or You are just shooting atmosphere. Is it some kind of musical event, club? It would be interesting to catch these disco lights and people dancing. Personally I would avoid flash in these situations, and try to catch mood of people dancing in the darkness with strobo lights, and lasers.....Shooting raw is for later correction of potential problems with white balance in low light situation. Or just play with lond exposure people movements and lower asa settings. It can create interesting pics. Just aim for the body movement if I am correct that You are speaking about dancing event.

3. Thanks for your answer. I will be taking pictures of people dancing and groups sitting on their tables things like that. Thanks again!