Recommendations on Canon lens for sports photography

Discussion in 'Canon EOS' started by sonal_shah, Dec 1, 2014.

1. I am an amateur photographer who has needs to photo indoor at swim meets and basketball games as well as take photos at soccer and football games. I can not afford the Canon EF 400mmf/2.8L IS II USM lens, so suggestions on any other reasonably priced lenses would be much appreciated. Thank you!

2. Canon 70-200mm f2.8 + 1.4X teleconverter, 300mm f4 IS, or 100-400mm f4.5-5.6 versions I or II.
    Another route to consider would be going the Canon 85/1.8 135/2, 200/2.8 prime routes with or without the teleconverter. In your place, I would probably go for the 70-200mm + or - the teleconverter. IS would be nice, but not really essential (except perhaps with the 1.4X).
    Another approach might be to consider the Sigma 120-300 f2.8 OS: more expensive, but good value. The first version has the same optics as the latest and saves you $1000.

3. I shoot Nikon but the answer is the same -- you need 2.8 or faster to shoot indoor sports and a 70-200 is the basic bread and butter lens for these events. Yes you can use a prime, but they are not nearly as flexible as a zoom. The Canon 70-200 2.8 is around $2500 so you might want to look at Sigma or possible the new Tamron with image stabilization (don't get the old Tamron without image stabilization. I have it and it's for fine portraits and events but doesn't autofocus fast enough for sports.) Even with 2.8, you're going to need an ISO of at least 1600. You can use the teleconvertor in some situations but you lose a stop or two of light.

The 400 2.8 is a great lens for football or soccer but you probably don't need that long inside. Depending on how often you shoot, you might consider renting one when you need it.