Real Estate Photography Aspect Ratio Questions

g._snow

I'm new to shooting real estate. Also new to anything having to do with the real estate industry.) I recently looked at my client's online listing (MLS.com) and the photos I gave her are being cropped on the website. After looking into it I learned that the MLS website utilizes a 4:3 aspect ratio for pictures. I have a DSLR plus my current lens is 16-85mm (I plan to purchase a wider lens in the near future) so I really can't afford for much of the image to get cropped on these online listings. I have a lot of questions and hoping some of you can give me examples of how you deal with aspect ratio efficiently during your workflow, especially export. For example:

1. Should I be putting every image on a template that is a 4:3 ratio, and how? Should I set my crop ration to 4:3?

2. Not knowing what different needs a client may have for various outputs, should I have more than one template based on different sizes, aspect ratios, DPI etc. and saving each image to them individually?

3. Is there a simple way to address these concerns during output settings in LR?

below I cropped with 3:2 ratio and the edited, but if I'm going to crop to 4:3 then the composition is bad. What's more important when working within the limitations of my current equipment...editing for good composition or ratio and other details of final output?

814850248__DSC0150_wip1_cropped34.thumb.jpg.52f11f8198d2e7671a6c6058208b2ed9.jpg 1612676630__DSC0150_wip1_cropped43.thumb.jpg.6c3bcfe778046f91f3677abf641dd035.jpg

. . . You have to previsualize the crop. . . .

Yes, I agree.

g snow:

Get a bit of black cardboard, about 12" x 9". Make a cut-out in the middle exactly 4" x 3", that's exactly the Aspect Ratio 4:3. When on-site you can move that template toward and away from your eye to ensure that you get enough of the scene in shot to allow a perfect 4:3 crop in Post Production to include the elements of the scene that you want.