Re-Tooling my kit

ejchem101

<p>So, over the past few years I have kept myself fairly busy buying/selling used camera gear to try things out. I started out on completely manual film cameras about 18 years ago (i'm 28 now). I was mainly self taught on film, my first digital was a kodak, and then when I had a full time job I picked up a D60 with a 50 1.8 I used that for about 2 years, when I decided to pick up a 20D - Then the Gear Aquisition picked up.</p>

<p>From that point about 6 months later, I picked up a 5D because I was having so much fun with the 20D. I used the 5D for a little over a year, putting about 5k shots on it. I then saw a good deal on at 1D mark II so I sold the 5D (for a little more than I payed for it) and tried out the 1D II. I liked it so much I sold that and bought a 1Ds mark II!</p>

<p>Well... in the course of about 5 years I have worked myself from a D60 to a 1Ds mark II. Don't get me wrong, over these 5 years I have taken somewhere in the range of 25k images across all of these cameras, and I have learned a ton! However, I feel like I have outdone myself. I am an amateur. I take some senior portraits, some landscapes, some macros - but - I take photos for the enjoyment.</p>

<p>The 1Ds mark II is an amazing machine, and the greatest camera that I have ever used! But - I have noticed that I loved the photos out of the 5D mark I just as much as I do out of the 1Ds mark II (sure the AF is tons better, but at the sizes I print I can't tell the difference in IQ)... and I found myself taking it along more often because of the size and weight difference.</p>

<p>For the first time in many years, I am going to go backwards. I'm going to simplify. As amazing as the 1D series is - I have to admit that they are not for me. Am I alone here? or are there more of you that would chose to use a XXD / 5D / 7D instead of the 1D series.</p>