Quick and dirty guide to manual flash photography?

csafdari

<p>I am a large format photographer who rarely deals with flash. In-studio, I use continuous lighting. Now I plan on using a vivitar 285hv flash off-camera with a Canon F1 (new) and a Mamiya 7ii and perhaps a handheld 4x5 life a SuperSpeed -- and I have no idea what to do. I do have a Sekonic flashmeter though. So can someone give me a quick run down, for example for a portrait outdoors espcially involving fill light? Not quite sure how to "balance" the ambient v. flash exposure, and whether this is necessary.<br>

I understand that the synch speed on the canon f1 is 1/90 -- so I have to use shutter speeds that are slower or equal to that. The other cameras of course don't have focal shutters so not an issue there.<br>

So suppose I want to take a photo of a backlit subject. The ambient exposure is ASA 400, 125 at f/16. I am guessing I put the vivitar on full-power manual mode, flashmeter the shadow, and end up with another exposure setting.<br>

Then what?<br>

I'd buy a book but they seem to all deal mostly with TTL flash and digital cameras. Recommendations? And please do not refer me to strobist -- been there.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Fill flash with the Vivitar is not complicated. Meter your subject minus the flash, making sure your shutter speed is at or slower than the fastest x-sync speed. Let's say it's f/8 and 1/60th sec. The 285 has concentric dials on the side. One sets ISO and the other selects an aperture. That's usually color-coded. I know it is on the 283. Set the flash's ISO to the same as the camera and select an aperture on the flash that's one stop less than your shooting aperture. in this example you're shooting at f/8,so set your flash to f/5.6. You can do all of this w/out a flash meter. I did for years.</p>