Questions about lighting for wet plate photo (studio portrait)

Hi. I am new to wet plate photography. I am hoping to get some advice about how to make studio portraits using artificial light.

I’ve understood that collodion is sensitive to blue/green wavelengths but not so much to yellow/red wavelengths, and some say that strobes and LED lights are not effective for wet plate photography.

Here are my questions:

1)I have Profoto Acute2 2400. Would this be too weak?

2)Another light I have is Yongnuo YN-900 LED Video Light(900 LEDs, 5500K) . If I use a blue filter over the light would that help?

Any tips or technical advice is greatly appreciated!

Not all "wet plate" is equal. You've got to figure out what effective ISO your plate has, then figure out how many "foot-candles" of light are needed.

I'd google around for instructions on coating the plate, and then figure out exposure from what you've started with.

e.g., https://expertphotography.com/wet-plate-photography/

By the way, these days pretty much anybody is "new" to this, ;)

• Like 1

Collodion emulsion isn't sensitive to the yellow to red end of the spectrum at all.

A blue filter won't help. Filters subtract light, not add it.

'Daylight' white LEDs are quite high in blue and violet light, but most of the commercial panel type lights are not very powerful. You really need something with an output of several thousand lumens to keep exposures from running into tens of seconds. Domestic 100w-equivalent LED lamps put out around 850 lumens each. So maybe a bank of 10 or more of those would give sufficient light. They'd certainly be cheaper than those overpriced and underpowered video panels.

Strobes also have quite a high blue/UV output - especially the cheap ones without coated tubes that reduce UV light.

I've no idea why "some say that strobes and LED lights are not effective". They have a far bluer spectrum than any alternative, apart from an arc lamp or daylight.