I have spent time searching the forums and reading, and have not found a

posting which addresses my specific question. Thank you for your thoughts and

consideration in advance.

Since it's worthless to solicit advice without giving some background

information, here are the basics: I'm a serious amateur with about 40 years

experience. I shoot mainly event photography (stages with high-tech lighting,

etc.), portraits (I have lights and backdrops), family snapshots, and about six

weddings a year. My equipment consists of a 5D, 1D MKII N, 50mm f/1.8, 85mm

f/1.8, 24-70 f/2.8L, 70-200 f/2.8L IS, Canon 1.6x TC, and the usual accessories.

The bulk of what I do is the performance side of things. I think I've shot

three outdoor sporting events in the past five years. On the rare occasion my

wife and I get to travel, I like to take some landscapes. If I shoot outdoors,

it's fair weather only, so I don't need full weather sealing, etc. I haven't

gotten near the end-of-life for a shutter since my T-90... and that was from

non-use.

A little over a year ago, I sold my 20D and got the 1D MKII N. My desire was

for the better high speed focusing and, with the 1.3 sensor, better image

quality in terms of noise at high ISO and the other advantages associated with

larger sites and micro lenses (compared to the 20D).

However, in the past year, I have become somewhat dissatisfied with the banding

(especially in the shadows and darker areas) with the 1D in low light, high ISO

situations. The degree of banding appears to be about the same as with my 20D

several years ago (I shoot raw and process with Capture 1). With 8MP and a 1.3

crop, I also can't put as many pixels on the target with the 70-200 as I could

with the 20D (obviously) without using the TC - which drops the f-stop.

Here's the question with the sanity component... I would like your thoughts on

the pros and cons of selling a very low mileage, mint condition 1D MKII N and