Question regarding a 50mm 1.8D! (FEE issue)

caitlin_b1

<p>I am not sure if this is the correct category to ask this but I have been scouring the internet trying to find the answer I am looking for, I've gotten <em>pretty close</em> but my exact question hasn't been answered.<br>

I shoot with a Nikon D300 and primarily use my 50mm 1.8D (since the only other lens I own is a kit 18-55mm) I am an amateur you should know so if I word this funny I apologize, i'm slowly learning!<br>

I am trying to learn how to shoot in a very shallow depth of field because the photos with the incredibly out of focus backgrounds really appeal to my eye at the moment and thats my latest endeavor. Especially those I see in magazines and fashion blogs where there is a <em>veeeery</em> thin line thats in focus (the model or what ever the subject matter may be) and everything in front and behind is a giant blur. I am just really interested in creating the perfect bokeh!<br>

here are examples of what I am trying to perfect exactly:<br>

spacer.png

http://www.flickr.com/photos/annaszczek/5295696992/sizes/l/in/photostream/<br>

http://www.flickr.com/photos/annaszczek/5019083958/sizes/l/in/photostream/<br>

http://www.flickr.com/photos/annaszczek/4858159367/sizes/l/in/photostream/<br>

spacer.png

I have of course managed to get nice bokeh, but I want to be able to do this when ever I please and not just "get lucky." I realize it has to do with Aperture and the smaller the number the bigger the lens hole that lets the light in. I also realize it has to do with the distance you are from your subject and the background too<br>