Question about Non Compete

katie_beck

<p>I wanted to see if anyone had any advice about how to deal with a non compete once you have already signed one. This particular non compete was signed in the state of Alabama. I will be the first to admit that I shouldn't have done it. Hindsight is 20/20 and I was a student desperately needing internship credit to graduate. But I'm here now and would greatly appreciate any advice on how to move forward because I have received mixed advice about the enforceability of these contracts in this state. I have also received mixed advice about how to approach this subject with my employer. <br>

When I signed the contract, it was for a high end wedding photography business. The majority of their business is weddings but they do portraits and events on occasion. I also am considered an independent contractor by my employer. I am paid a low hourly wage, receive no benefits and also receive no credit for my work. 4 years later, I am being told that portraits and events (as well as weddings) are out of the question for me (even though I've been given verbal permission to shoot weddings and portraits for friends on occasion). And for the record, all of the work I've done on the side is small potato stuff - for friends and family. I am only a part time employee. All of the potential clients who approach me are contacts I made whlle I was in school or through family and friends. None of my clients are from the area of town my employer conducts business and have no business with my employer. Though the business I work for is considered high end and works in a very specific part of town for a very specific type of clientele, I am told that I am pretty much chopped off at the knees as far as everything (in an area that encompasses two counties). <br>