Quantum 4 Triggers

ben_hutcherson

I'm new to the world of studio lighting and working with some older Norman equipment, but one of the things I picked up were several Quantum 4 triggers. I think I have four transmitters and three receivers(one receiver for each of the power packs). All are set up on channel "D", and in my limited testing everything works fine.

I can't seem to find a lot of discussion on these units. As is typical of Quantum stuff, they seem plenty sturdy and the range seems good on them.

I know these are older units, but is there any particular reason why I should consider a newer alternative? At least for now I'm not doing time-critical stuff and also am not currently doing portraits so if something does come up I don't miss a shot or look like an idiot while I try to troubleshoot it. The only thing I've run was a set of dead batteries in a receiver, which of course was easy to fix(even though it stumped me a bit since it had worked fine a few hours earlier) but even that's not a HUGE deal as I have wall cords for the receivers if I need them.

Is there any downside to continuing to use these, and should I budget for a more up to date system like Pocket Wizards?

At least with my current needs I could get away without any trigger at all, but I also like not having a PC cord trailing my camera. Plus, there's the fact that at least with DSLRs I'm a bit unsure about feeding these old packs directly into the camera. When I was test firing them before bringing them home, I brought along a D1X, which I have more out of collectible interest but wouldn't be heartbroken if I fried the sync circuit. It was fine through about 40 test shots, but there again I don't want to push my luck.

If they are working, keep using them. Your lights are too old to work with anybody's TTL flash control, so you wouldn't gain much by replacing the Quantums. If you were going to open a full time studio you would probably want newer lights and radio triggers/receivers.