Quantaray lenses compatible?

wolffmom

Quantaray lenses are relabeled lenses from other manufactuerers (mainly Sigma iirc). In your case, the lens is not compatible with digital EOS cameras, and eventually it's not compatible with the latest film EOS that came out as well.

The problem is usually an errormessage as soon as you want to stop down ... when you use the DOF button, or when you press the shutter button.

Sigma did rechip some of their lenses (the newer lenses have loadable firmware). Depending on the lens, Sigma might (or might not) be able to rechip the lens.

Rainer

come now....I am not a professional here but I have taken some wonderful zoom pics with this lense(ex: highschool track & football).

sigh...so what is a good zoom lens for the XTI and at what cost? I have alot invested in the reg canon rebel already to spend to much upgrading the digital.

Thank you for your time.

Patti,

I own a Quantaray 70-300 (Tamron Rebrand?) that I picked up for my XT when I bought it, because I didn't own any lenses for Canon at the time. While it is a passable lens for amateur use, it is next on my list of upgrades, probably sometime next year. It works on the XT, but I haven't tested it on an XTi yet. But, it was somewhat quirky even on the XT, with occasional errors.

The price you pay, besides lower image quality, when buying cheaper "fourth-party" lenses like this is that when Canon upgrades their cameras, they tend not to work properly, because the manufacturers have not properly licensed the interface from Canon, but rather have reverse engineered it. With third party lenses like Sigma and Tamron, when there is a compatibility problem, they will often re-chip the lens, within a reasonable period. These "fourth party" lenses generally don't have this option. You get what you pay for.