PW MiniTT1 failed to trigger FlexTT5 in first shoot

hoi_kwong

I've been using PW MiniTT1 paired with FlexTT5 (Nikon) for 3 years+ and they all worked fine.

In my recent two studio shooting events, I changed all TT5 to Basis mode and two Nikon SB600 flashes in M mode. Unfortunately, the first shoot (first shutter pressed) was not able to trigger two flashes on FlexTT5.

1) The first shoot failed, then the following shoots back to normal. However, if the camera idled for 5 minutes or more after a few shoots, the first shoot failed again.

2) The distance between TT1 and TT5 was less than 60 feet.

3) Even when I pressed directly on the Test button on TT1, it's not 100% successful trigger the flashes in every press.

what causes this trigger problem ?

a) Basic Mode ?

b) Weak battery power on TT1 ?

c) on camera TT1 connection issue ?

d) need firmware update ? I updated all firmwares in July 2015.

Thanks.

<p>For starters, I don't understand what you mean when you say you put the SB700's in M mode.</p>

<p>When you use SB speedlights (I use SB 400/SB800 and SB910's) with PW's TT5's, you should not change the setting of the speedlight on the speedlight itself, but simply leave it with the M Master and R remote settings off.<br>

I believe the SB700. has the same kind of button and selector set up as the SB910, so that boils down to simply setting the on/of selector on 'On', not on remote R or master M.</p>

<p>Same goes for the flash mode Mode setting, just leave it on TTL or BL/TTL.</p>

<p>Through the remote control M function of your camera or with the AC3 you can then set your remotes in A, M (and selected power settings) or off position.<br>

<br />Secondly I don't understand what you mean with Basic Mode either. Do you mean you reset the TT5's to standard factory settings, nothing fancy with HSS etc. ?<br>

I personally have been shooting with my TT5's in the above described way for years, and met no issues doing so.</p>