Purple dot on video/display? Should I return the camera?

miajx

Hello! Newbie here. I have a problem with my brand new Canon EOS 6D.

Purple dot appears on video (shot under low light) and it's also visible on display (live view mode).

I'm not certain if this is a pixel because if I zoom in the video on my computer, the purple dot seems to occupy more than just one pixel. Here are the images:

Video zoomed in:

https://ibb.co/cJfQ5o

https://ibb.co/mM9Gd8

Video normal size:

adfdsf

Should I return the camera? I'm not an experienced user, so before checking out the tutorials on how to fix this, I'd like to know if this is a serious problem or not. Any advice?

Hi Miajx, old experienced Canon camera shooter here. Welcome to the Photo.net Canon EOS forum.

Looks like you have a hot pixel, cameras get these, both hot pixels and dead pixels and stuck pixels. Nothing to panic over. You just need to remap your sensor. It is simple to fix. You can do this by removing the lens and putting the camera body cap on the camera, then go into the camera menu and go to the sensor cleaning menu and press clean sensor manually. This takes about 30 seconds. Your camera looks at every pixel on the sensor checking for hot, dead or stuck pixels. If all goes well you will not see the purple spot anymore. If this does not work after several attempts, then consider returning the camera or sending to Canon for repair.

It sure beats editing these out of every photo. It happens to all cameras.

Let us know how you make out. :) And hope you become a regular participant of the Canon EOS forum.

Edited by Mark Keefer
  • Like 2
Cheers, Mark

:rolleyes:True unless you have the special hot pixel film. And in that case, this manual sensor cleaning fix would not work for that film. Film shooters are at a real disadvantage there.

:p

That's my experience as well, esp as just about any film over 1600 ISO DEFINITELY falls into that category... ;)

• Like 1