PS Elements 4.0 won't open files?

Discussion in 'Digital Darkroom' started by eye-of-searle, Mar 16, 2006.

1. I have been using PS Elements for a couple of months now. My
    computer currently only has 512MB RAM and I understand the lack of
    performance because of this. I have another 512MB in route. I most
    deal with TIFF files anywhere from 50MB to 130MB is size. Scanned
    using a Nikon Coolscan v. Until yesterday, PSE 4.0 always opened
    my files with no problems except for the slow speed. Now, when PSE
    4.0 tries to open any file regardless of size, my system locks up
    and untimately shuts down. The windows on the screen get all
    broken up and everything just locks up. This happens without fail
    as of yesterday. I am going crazy here. I have defragmented my
    files and I always make sure PS is the only program running.

Is this just a result of my lack of RAM? If so, why did it just
    start happening now? PSE 4.0 and previously PS 7 ran fine until
    yesterday. I know the extra 512MB coming will help with speed but
    will it at least let me open my files in PSE 4.0?

Sorry for all the questions. It's just extremely frustrating. I
    guess worse case scenerio is I have to get a new computer than can
    handle more RAM and has a faster processor. I currently have a
    Pentium 4 1.6 GHZ with 80GB hard driver and of course, 512MB RAM.

Any help or suggestions are much appreciated.

Jim

2. Since the problem just started yesterday, one thing I would suspect is that your hard drive is almost full, and you may not have enough free space left to open the files.

PS Elements needs room not only in memory (RAM) but also on the hard drive (what is called "scratch space") to function properly.

To check, click on "my computer", right-click on your hard drive, and select "properties". You will see a pie chart showing used vs free space. You may need to delete some files (not programs) to free up enough space.