Providing a copy of coverage to client?

studio1314

Hello,

My client has asked me to provide a copy of my business coverage to the vendor, but also a copy to himself. I raise an eyebrow! I do not have a problem providing this information to the venue directly, but I do not think this is necessary to provide to my client directly. I have never been asked by a client to provide them with a copy, so I am not sure if this is a good decision. Has anyone else provided a copy of coverage to their client?

In my experience, large entities like corporations and universities frequently ask for this. If you want the work, you'll probably have to provide it.

Perhaps I should clarify I'm a wedding photographer and my couple has asked me to provide them with a copy of my business insurance along with sending a copy to the venue. I'm going to check to see if there is a proof of insurance that I could provide rather than detailed information.

Perhaps I should clarify I'm a wedding photographer and my couple has asked me to provide them with a copy of my business insurance along with sending a copy to the venue. I'm going to check to see if there is a proof of insurance that I could provide rather than detailed information.

No idea where you work. I work in AUS. It is quite easy here to attain a "Certificate of Currency" which details the Insurance cover of a business. That statement is on the underwriter’s letterhead and primarily details:

> The Insured (e.g. “Studio 1314 Wedding Photography”)

> The expiry date of the policy

> The type of Insurance (e.g. the two most often required here are - Public Property Liability; Public Personal Injury Liability)

> The amount of cover (e.g. mine is $20,000,000.00, severally)

It would be an odds-on bet that such a document, maybe by a different name, would be available from all insurers of any standing.