Protecting equipment in the rainforest conditions

artyom_kopp

I am about to spend two weeks camping in the rainforest on Borneo. I expect

it will be extremely hot and humid there. Can somebody tell me how to

prepare my equipment for these conditions? I have a Canon EOS and a few

simple autofocus lenses, nothing fancy. I am a biologist, not a photographer.

Thanks!

Art

All you really need to do is make sure you keep your stuff dry. The heat won't effect your camera as much as it might your film. Keep your stored film out of direct sunlight and away from the direct heat as much as possible. For your camera and lenses, simply storing them in zip lock bags with some silica packs included to absorb mosture will work just fine.

Suggestion: bring a bunch of try cloths in separate ziploc baggies. Your lense cloths will quickly be "damp" and will no longer dry your lense. I took to stealing dry paper napkins each night in my camp for use during the day. Expect your camera to 'sweat', and bring an extra body and lense in case yours decides the humidity is too much. On my recent trip to the tropics, several people's cameras and lenses (esp the older autofocus zooms) decided to take a siesta in the middle of the trip. An extra body would be well worth it.

Good luck! (You might also consider a Pelican dry box for when it rains, which it will. Also, you can bang the thing around and have no worries.)

If you don't already have a bag, you might want to look into LowPros new Dry Packs. They will float in a rive and keep your stuff dry!

If not pickup some of those silcon dry packs. They should help reduce moisture in your pack.

Here are my 2 primary recommendations: