ProPhoto Batpac & D1 Heads for Wedding Photographer

<p>Hi Guys,</p>

<p>This is an extension of a previous post I posted yesterday that talked about meeting the needs of portable Portrait Photography. http://www.photo.net/photography-lighting-equipment-techniques-forum/00bw4B</p>

<p>After having the discussion with everyone, along with talking to bhphoto professionals, and calling camera stores, i now understand much better what will fit my needs. I was going to go with an Elinchrom Ranger RX AS System, but then discovered the Batpac by Profoto, making a kit much more affordable.</p>

<p>For anyone who would like to know. I am primarily a wedding Photographer. I shoot higher end weddings, and working on breaking into the Luxury Category of Wedding Photographers. I live/work at Lake Tahoe. Which offers great venues and scenery. With that comes more difficult photography conditions. The thin atmosphere due to being over 6000 ft high, and the sun reflecting off the lake multiplying its intensity make needing a great light source crucial. In addition to weddings we do family portraits during the week for the wealthier tourists. And this winter i would love to do some winter action sports and bring a high end look look to them</p>

<p>So this is what i have come up with.</p>

<p>Profoto Batpac $1830<br />D1 Air 1000W/s, D1 Air 500W/s, Bag, Stands, Air Remote, & 2 Umbrellas $2899 (individually would cost roughly $3500)<br />Beauty Dish $390<br />3' Octabox $210<br />Speedring $110<br />Transceiver $225<br /> Total $5780<br /> <br /> I understand this will cost about 1k more than the Elinchrom option, but I think this is a good decision because I will have some of the best lights there are, and I will be able to grow into more profoto gear.<br /> <br /> I would love to hear thoughts by people that have experience with the Batpac and D1 system. <br /> <br /> Thanks,<br /> Jon</p>