Proper Exposure with DSLR

shab_sadr

I have some experience shooting weddings and would like to shoot them

professionally. I have a Nikon D70s and have a major problem with exposure.

Many of my images have blown out highlights (often as a result of shooting group

formals under direct sunlight). Many others (often during indoor reception) are

underexposed and have a lot of shadow and midtone noise. I use a Sigma EG-500

adjustable flash and often try to bounce it to avoid harsh lighting/shadows etc.

How can I make sure my exposures are within range? I use the flash to fill

under direct sun, but I still end up with blown out whites which are

unrecoverable even in ACR. This requires major editing in post-production to

ensure high quality images, and many rejected photos. Please help.

well - shooting raw will help, but only if you are a bit over.

why are you shooting overexposed images anyway?

watch your histogram and adjust as necessary. increase your shutter speed and f-stop until your flesh tones are good, and then apply flash to fill in the shadows.

your flash might not be good for fill in outdoors - I'm not sure how powerful it is...???

conrad

Well, it's been called...

Shooting RAW (at least with our 5D/20D's) gives us over 1 stop (1.3-1.7 stops, it appears to me) of extra room for the brights.

We actually intentionally overexpose, to an extent, in order to give more detail/less noise in the shadows/darks.

I tend to spot meter at +2/3 on the brightest thing I want to still have detail... such as the white wedding dress. The histogram (and the jpg) LOOK blown out many times, but once you open the RAW and bring it down, it actually looks cleaner.

You may not want to intentionally overexpose, but shooting RAW will certainly help if you do, so long as you don't WAY overexpose.