ProOptic 500mm f/6.3 lens for $160

<p>Note that the review says</p>

<blockquote>

<p>Forget about when you need critical sharpness</p>

</blockquote>

<p>Now this is a topic that I have some experience with, so</p>

<ol>

<li>I warn you, this was exactly how I started with one little Quantaray 500mm f/8</li>

<li>Note that results will likely be fairly "soft" with this lens, as you've been warned in the review </li>

<li>You will discover that <em>much</em> better 500mm lenses were offered in the past such as those from Spiratone or even Cambron.</li>

<li>These often sell on eBay for much less than $160.</li>

<li>In fact I bought my non-AI Reflex-Nikkor, a superb and classic lens, for $185</li>

<li>but you won't figure this out until you end up like me......</li>

</ol><div>00SVt0-110677784.jpg.e2876fd6578533c72591c207c655f12d.jpg</div>

<p>JDM, I strongly disagree with your point #6! ;-) Really, thanks for handing me the virtual cup of coffee.</p>

<p>Honestly, I was interested in little more than a cheap/fun lens to take out on the water -- no catastrophic loss if it takes a splash. (The camera body is a different issue, of course.) However, if I can indeed find a GOOD mirror on Ebay for the same price, then I'll all ears. My previous attempts at finding such a lens have not been very successful. I see them for $300 or $400, which is far more than I want to pay for a lens I won't be using seriously. (And yes, I've been searching specifically for the Nikkors, as I have a Nikon shooter friend who loves his.) Perhaps I haven't been patient enough. Did it take a protracted search to find your Nikkor at the right price?</p>

<p>FAIW, the Pro-Optic seems to be a re-labeled Rokinon 500/6.3.</p>

<p>Interested in selling off your second-best mirror? ;-)</p>

<p>Actually, I should have said, <em>if you're like me</em> , you won't figure it out until you've amassed more 500mm lenses than reason allows....<br>