Professional architectural photography & 35mm gears !

dhiren

I am wondering if there are any professional architecture

photographers in the forum, the reason I ask is, I myself I am an

architect and I work for a firm in DC, and I was asked to shoot

couple of our buildings, after they seen my photographic work.

I have 300D and 17-40L & 70-200L, which I am planning to use; I just

wanted to ask whether it�s a wise move to use these lenses other than

T&S lens [or medium format]. Is there any of you guys who use 35mm

gears for architectural photography and correct the perspective

digitally.

I also have doubt about correcting perspectives digitally, don�t you

lose any sharpness or resolution quality after correcting in PS or

similar image editing software.

All the advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Dhiren

I am just a hobbyist, and enjoy architectural photography.

While a tilt shift would be fun, using the perspective correction in photoshop will do a very decent job. You will loose a bit of sharpness, but just stop the lens down and use a tripod. If you are expanding converged lines that are blurry, that will just amplify the blurriness.

Going to large format will give you tilting and shifting for less than just a 24mm TS-E. I have not used a TS-E, but large format is slow to setup. I also prefer the convenience of 35mm.

The 17-40 is what I use mainly for them, although if you are doing external stuff, I find the telephoto nice for its ability to flatten the subject.

Hope this helps.

Robert

<p>I like photo.net. However, I work in a section of Minneapolis that has many professional photographers. I haven't met *one* professional photographer who frequents photo.net. 

They are too busy photographing and honing their art to participate here. <br>

<br>

Now, photo.net does have professional photographers, and some outstanding amateur