Processing Ilford FP4 with ID-11

I have been processing Ilford FP4 film with ID-11 for several months

now and I am getting rather thin negatives (compared to the density's

I get using the same camera with HP5 and Pan F).

For all films I have been religiously following Ilford's recommended

times.

What is the best way of correcting this problem:

Shoot the film setting the meter at 64 ASA (instead of 125)or

Increase development time to +1 ?

What do you recommend?

Has anyone else had this problem with this film / developer

combination?

Thanks

Marco

Everybody has to sort this out for themselves. If you have good shadow detail in the negatives, don't change the EI. If the shadows are thin, try shooting at EI64 or so. When you print, what paper grade works well? If you constantly need grade (or filter) #1, try decreasing the film development about 20%. If you're always reaching for the #4, increase the development about 20%. Your enlarger will have some effect, not to mention the type of subjects you shoot, your water, your agitation technique, etc.

FP4 Plus is my primary B&W film for studio use these days. I've gotten consistently excellent results (for my purposes) with ID-11 at 1+1 dillution for 11 full minutes at 68 deg. F. I rate the film at ASA 100 using a Minolta flash meter. But that's just me. If you want denser negatives to work with, by all means experiment with longer development times, higher temperatures, or lower ASA ratings.

�Thin� is a very ambiguous term when talking about negatives. Some people use it to describe �underexposed,� and others use it to describe �too little contrast.� Being able to distinguish density problems from contrast problems is one the things that is crucial for getting good negatives, but difficult for many photographers to figure out (especially when there is more than one problem).