Processing at Home vs Lab and weighing it all out...

Discussion in 'Film and Processing' started by tyler_love, Apr 30, 2010.

1. Hello everyone, this is my first post here.

I'm a artist living in Brooklyn. For the last several months I've been shooting almost entirely on film. I rarely like to talk about equipment or my method but I'm in a huge dilemma trying to figure out the most feasible and economical approach to having quality negs, ready for scanning or print.

I shoot on 1 of 3 cameras primarily...

• Mamiya 7II
    • Mamiya RZ67
    • Nikon FM2
    • + a few other toy cameras I use far less frequently
    • Oh yeah a, 5D Mark II for cold harsh digital

I am about to start an art project of carrying the 7II with me everywhere I go for 365 days. That includes my scheduled trips to Austria, Germany, and Greece. I also travel the states frequently. I anticipate I'll shoot 5-10 rolls per month (I manage about 2-4 as it is).

So there it is, what do I do with 5-10 rolls of film a month?

Currently I use Manhattan Color Labs. They do a great job processing and packaging my negatives. Their scans are garbage. At this point I've talked them down to $14 for scans and processing. They do a great job with C-41, so-so with E-6 and B&W turns out usable.

It's also worth noting, my favorite place to get my processing done charges $34 per roll for processing ($14) and scanning ($20 for 4.5mb reasonable scans). They also charge $20 for B&W processing.

I'm interested in the Jobo stuff but it seems nearly impossible to find. I also can't gather what they would actually cost. Ebay prices vary drastically and I have yet to find an online store selling them.

My experience with at home developing has been successful. Some black and whites here and there.

So rather than saying what I want to do, I'm curious as to how you would handle processing and developing?