Problems focusing Nikkor 50mm 1.4 AIS MF lens

rexmarriott

<p>I inherited my brother's battered FM2 with a Nikkor 50mm 1.4 lens and was surprised to find that it worked. Now, having shot several rolls of film, I feel there may be a problem with the lens. Shots taken with larger apertures are often badly out of focus. I've chosen static subjects, focused carefully and kept a record of focus points. Often, objects in the foreground, well in front of the point of focus, are crisp and sharp, whereas the subject is not. There seems to be no problem with medium and smaller apertures.</p>

<p>I'm a relative novice, so there may be some error on my part.</p>

<p>Any ideas?</p>

<p>Screens for SLR cameras are often too transparent for good manual focusing. Your eye looks through them to focus on a virtual plane behind the ground surface. This causes the actual focusing plane to be short of the subject, as you have observed. The lens isn't very forgiving because you don't have much depth of field at f/1.4.</p>

<p>Make sure your eye is focused firmly on any grid or rangefinder outlines on the screen itself. These lines and the subject should be in simultaneous focus. </p>

<p>It is also possible that the screen is misplaced or even inverted. That's easy to do with replaceable screens, and easy to diagnose and fix. The ground surface should face downward, toward the mirror.</p>

<p>I've also found the screens on some of the consumer SLR's can be out of alignment in relation to the focal plane of the film. As well as the mirror may not be settling into it's proper position after each shot, which will throw off focus. </p>

<p>You mention you were surprised to find the camera still worked, is it in bad or beat up shape. Could be the lens flange is out of whack.</p>

<blockquote>