Problem with Canon T1i (500D) Busy Signal / Flash Recharge

karen_mackay

<p>Hi - I am new to this forum and to DSLR photography in general but very interested in pursuing this new hobby. I purchased the Canon T1i in October 2009. </p>

<p>Lately I have noticed that the camera will "lock up" when I am in the middle of shooting. This usually occurs after approximately 10 shots. It says "busy" and will stay that way for a good 10-15 seconds. It is only when using the flash but it occurs in both well lit and poorly lit situations. I am still really new to photography so I do most of my shooting in auto or creative auto right now (embarrassing, I know) and I am shooting L images (not RAW which I understand can take longer to process).</p>

<p>I am also using a SD Extreme III Card with 8GB.</p>

<p>I will admit that my son dropped the camera once, about 20 inches off a coffee table onto a hardwood floor. I didn't notice this "busy" problem before the drop, so do you think that could've done something to the flash?</p>

<p>Would my best bet be to send it to Canon for evaluation? Or would a Speedlite solve my problem?</p>

<p>I brought it to Best Buy (where I purchased it) and they said it is a feature of the camera. How can my tiny point and shoot be faster than this DSLR? Thank you in advance for any help / advice you may have.</p>

<p>Can you be more clear on where it says "busy"? Are you shooting in burst mode (multiple shots)?<br>

Even then an 8gb card should be able to keep up in jpeg mode.<br>

Try a new/different CF card. Make sure you format the card IN CAMERA and see if perhaps that helps. The card may have an issue or be corrupted slowing down the read/write speed.<br>

Take it to a local camera store where the staff is more knowledgeable and can asses whether its working correctly or not. I doubt it has anything to do with the flash.<br>

If they think there is an issue, I would insist BB send it for repair or contact Canon directly.</p>