Problem w/ AF-Assist Lamp Using CLS Flash

chip_chipowski

<p>I recently experienced a problem with the AF-assist lamp on my D300. My set-up was: D300 w/ Sigma 30mm, SB-800 connected via hot shoe cord (SC-28 3rd-party equivalent) set as CLS master, SB-700 set to remote. </p>

<p>As the available light disappeared, I realized the AF-assist lamp was not kicking on. I checked the menu on the camera and each flash, to make sure AF-assist was not turned off. In fact, all devices showed the AF-assist light was on.</p>

<p>I have looked through the manuals, but I find no clue as to what the issue could have been. I am not experienced using CLS or off-camera flash, so I am wondering if it is some kind of quirk in my set up. Is CLS a red herring? I don't think the Sigma lens should be a factor, I've never had a problem with this lens and the AF-assist lamp. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.</p>

<p>I have AF assist light turned off normally so I don't have a lot of experience with this, but I suspect the issue could be that when you have a CLS flash connected via TTL cord on the hot shoe, the camera may assume the flash or the cord (SC-29) will emit the assist light, and the on-camera assist light is not needed. Just a guess. The SC-28 doesn't have the light on the part that goes on the hot shoe but the SC-29 does. Does the SB-800 show the assist light active?</p>

<p>Another possibility is that to get AF assist light to function, single shot autofocus mode (AF-S) must be on; I recall it doesn't function in AF-C mode.</p>

<blockquote>

<p>single shot autofocus mode (AF-S) must be on; I recall it doesn't function in AF-C mode.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>Yup, good guess. I'd like to see AF assist ON (in AF-C) as a selectable menu option.</p>

<p>The AF assist on flash, or SC-29, follows the same rules as the on-body AF-assist lamp. In AF-C, it's all dark!</p>

<blockquote>Yup, good guess. I'd like to see AF assist ON (in AF-C) as a selectable menu option.</blockquote>