Pro shooters - what's the consensus on the SB-900 overheating issue?

andrew_holman1

<p>I am a working professional and also own the SB-600/SB-800. Recently I bought a new SB-900 and use it with my Quantum Battery 1+ packs - I have not loaded any batteries in it yet. When I went to use it like I did with my SB-800 the thing shut off (thermal warning) after 15-20 mins of what I consider 'light use' as a fill.</p>

<p>It was during a wedding so I was a bit concerned that Nikon's flagship speedlight became so useless so fast. I grabbed my SB-800 and finished the job. After a bit of online research I find that this is a common thing and is due to "user error" not a design flaw. (HA!)</p>

<p>I love the 900 due to the flexibility with the button placement..etc. I do not use on camera flash much at all and if I need any external lighting I use my Lumedyne system and Pocketwizards. Out of 1000 shots I might use the on camera flash for 100 or less of them - and it is for fill only. When I need it, I NEED IT and will not accept waiting around for it to cool off.</p>

<p>I am a bit concerned about if I should keep this or not and return it. I just thought that Nikon's top of the line flash would function a bit better than this. For now I have the thermal warning turned off and hoping that I do not melt the thing but my SB-800 has been a workhorse for years and I have abused that flash without one problem.</p>

<p>Is it worth keeping the 900? I need all the space I have in my gear bag and do not need a sketchy item getting in the way.</p>

<p>Should I trust that it will function properly with the thermal sensor turned off? It seems like maybe Nikon is only trying to implement a warning system to keep from making a lot of service repairs but honestly with the thermal warning on it is far from a professional item.</p>

<p>Maybe the SB-700 is a better unit for me? Is it prone to this as well?</p>

<p>Maybe a different battery system would be better?</p>