printing B&W problem (Epson3800)

<p>i've been using my epson 3800 for a couple years and never encountered this problem before.<br>

im working on a B&W print for a client, been editing and doing prints with no problems all of yesterday... i came back into work today to run more prints and the colours appear so faded, there is absolutely no richness nor contract to the B&W tones, especially blacks - it looks as prints look when printing on the wrong side of the photo paper. i've checked everything possible... paper profiles, nothing has changed to how i always work.<br>

im wondering whether i clicked something by mistake while editing or whether a setting in my printer has changed. if someone can go through a list of what i need to check in CS2 and printer that would be great.<br>

i ran a test of a colour image and it printed perfectly fine. please help, very urgent.</p>

<p>taking a closer look at what's going on - the areas of my images that should appear as pure black are the ones that are giving off a blue tint.<br>

i just looked at my black inks in the printer - i gave them all a good shake, still same problem.<br>

BUT, my MK cartridge is showing an expiry date of 10.2008<br>

while all my other inks are showing 2.2009</p>

<p>i was told expiry date has nothing to do with this - and a printer will still print fine - please help!</p>

<p>i just ran a power-cleaning ... problem solved! what would have caused this and how often do i have to run a cleaning?<br>

also, i noticed under Maintenance, an option to switch to Photo Black or Matte Black. Mine is always on Photo Black but can someone explain what the difference is?</p>