pricing royalty free images

owen_dawson

Hello,

I have an opportunity to sell 6-images to a popular "Inn" in Vermont and they want to have unlimited usage of images.

I really have no idea of what a good starting price might be per image or for the group of 6. If anyone has experience with this type of sale, I'd like to hear from you. Thanks

Owen

I'd ask what their budget is, then decide if you can afford to sell them at that price. Give them broad rights for an unlimited period in all media, but do not give them the copyright and reserve the right to use the images for your own promotion. Pricing guideline sites will give you very high prices that a small business simply will not be able to afford. Make it a win-win for both of you.

I'm just an amateur and I have no experience with selling any photos to anyone. FWIW, it think it depends on whether the Inn is buying photos that you've already shot (stock) or whether they're commissioning you for 6 new photos

If stock, the 'uniqueness/quality' of your photos compared to the prices of similar stock photos is a price factor, as is the Inn's wish (and budget) to have unique/quality photos. You could turn [uSER=1663629]@Charles_Webster[/uSER]'s suggestion around and think about what the photos/rights are worth to you. How much do you want/need to make on these photos?

If it's a commission, I assume you have a minimum price to cover direct costs. Start with you normal price (direct+ indirect costs + profit + pension, etc.) + a percentage and negotiate from there.

There's a lot of stuff on the web on price negotiation models and strategies. I don't think that photos are a special commodity.

Sorry I couldn't be of more help!

Mike