Pricing model for an automobile shoot

<p>Although I'm an avid hobbyist photographer, my professional work has been limited to a handful of side jobs every year. Most of those are commercial events like fund raisers, golf tournaments, & awards ceremonies, where I charge a flat hourly rate for the time I'm on site and then do only minimal editing on the keeper photos. The client gets a disc with the images, since nobody wants prints from those events.<br>

I've just been commissioned by a local car buff (a friend of a friend) to photograph his '64 Chevy pickup that he just finished restoring, and which won first place at a recent car show. These will be personal photos for the owner's scrap book -- not used for any commercial purpose.<br>

I love shooting old cars, but I've never done anything quite like this. I've spent plenty of time shooting the dirty, rusty cars sitting around my parents' farm. I've also spent plenty of time with my macro & ultra-wide lenses shooting shiny surfaces at local car shows. What I'm envisioning for this shoot, aside from the requisite shots of the owner with his car on their acreage, is something along the lines of what Tim Wallace teaches in the Kelby Training videos. For those not familiar, that's a full-on studio shoot with artificial lights and multi-shot composite images. Although I'm pretty familiar with multi-light studio setups for shooting people, and although I feel pretty comfortable with the techniques Tim teaches, I've never actually done a shoot like that before. I may try to play a little bit with my own car before then.<br>