Pregnant Wedding Photographer, would this matter to you?

amandalockphotography

I am a fairly new photographer, but on a combination of luck and good referrals,

already have three weddings scheduled for next year and two within the next

month. I am pregnant right now and with one of the weddings, will be 7-8 months

pregnant next year. My question is this; as a bride/or groom, would you feel

uncomfortable having a big cumbersome pregnant lady running around taking shots?

I am naturally athletic anyways, so it's not like I'm not going to be able to

pull myself out of a chair, but I will definitely be pregnant looking. Has

anyone even SEEN a pregnant wedding photographer? I've assured one of my brides

that I will be able to get all of the important shots and will be there for the

full 8 hours, but she still seems a little uneasy. Any thoughts/ideas?

My assistant (2nd photographer) was pregnant last year. Never a problem with our clients as I was the primary photographer. But by month 7, she was definitely not in a position to run around and take pictures with her usual athletic vigor. I did all the lifting of the heavy equipment and I did the bulk of the running around as well. Also, I had to cover for her during her bathroom breaks.

Bottom line, if you're working by yourself, I can easily see why your client is uneasy about this. Make sure that you have a very competent assistant and provide all assurances that you will have a backup for youself if you are unable to make it.

In my case, I took the extra precaution of booking a assistant to my assistant (3rd photog). You never know when a pregnancy might end up in bed rest the last few weeks/months. Fortunately, everything went well in my case and showing up with three photographers in all won me a lot of brownie points with the client.

Good luck with your business and off course your pregnancy.