Precipitate in fixer concentrate

giverin

<p>I've noticed recently that when mixing up fresh fixer, there is some white precipitate in the concentrated fixer. I've just mixed it with water, put it though a paper coffee filter and used it. It seems to work just fine. Should I be worried? The fixer is Ilford Hypam (5 litres) and I've just seen from Ilfords data sheet that they recommend it be used within 6 months of opening. I've been using it for 2 years and it was given to me already opened by someone who was giving up film photography so goodness knows how long it has been opened. I guess that's why its forming precipitate. Its actually quite expensive for me to buy so I'll probably keep using it until it stops working. I suppose if it fails to clear a film I can just buy some fresh fixer and re-fix the film. Has anyone else come across this problem?</p>

<p>Depends if you're in a hard water area. I treated myself to a distillation unit earlier this year and everything is magically cleaner - no precipitates and no spots. If your film is coming out clear in the specified time, the fixer is fine.</p>

<p>That said, I don't use powder for fix any more. I can fix twenty or so 35mm films in 600 ml of diluted Ilford Rapid Fixer, so it seems a bit pointless faffing around with five litre bottles and all the rest of it.</p>

<p>Hi Stephen & H.P. I can see the precipitate in the concentrate before the water is added. I probably wouldn't have bought fixer in 5 litre size but a couple of years ago I bought some patterson tanks from someone local to me who was moving to digital and he kindly gave me 5l of Ilford Hypam, 5l of Ilford paper developer and 5l of Kodak unifix (hardening fixer) which I use for fixing prints. When the Hypam runs out or becomes unusable, I'll probably go back to buying it in 1 litre size.</p>