PRAKTICA MTL 5B REPAIR

<p>People who are interested in what this one is like: -><br>

http://www.praktica-collector.de/214_Praktica_MTL5B.htm</p>

<p>For repairs, the number one reanimator of older Prakticas and other East-Bloc cameras is <a href="/photodb/user?user_id=3667779">Subbarayan Prasanna</a> although this one may be a little new for him.</p>

<p>I've amassed a lot of these old Ossies, but almost all them came still working (except for the meters), so I have little experience in repairing them.</p><div>00ciV3-549893984.jpg.81ca5212c48fa97ebb3cf559e917b27e.jpg</div>

<p>Thanks, Gordon, I hadn't seen that one. I saved a pdf of it.</p>

<p>By the way, the L series are the best of the Prakticas IMHO, and they are mostly very similar in layout, so Morris' instructions cover a lot of ground.</p>

<p>Hi Mark!<br>

Yes, please do look up Morris's report. He was in touch with Steve Shepherd and me when he was confronted with the Praktica problem. He is a great mechanic, very intuitive and precise.<br>

To answer your questions; (1) on the lens mount plate. There is a black flat ring [made of plastic in most cases] around the threaded mount. Just flip that out with a sharp needle. Then you will find the mounting screws. I think there will be four of them. You can tighten them with even pressure and then set the Black plastic ring again. <br>

(2) For tightening the flash shoe you need to remove the top plate after removing the wind-on lever, the speed selector and the rewind knob. <strong>Be careful not to shut the back door after you remove the rewind knob.</strong> It snaps shut and the lever is operated by pulling the rewind knob. in case it gets shut accidentally, you will have to remove the bottom plate and then reach the snap lever to pry it loose. Not an impossible job; but it can be irritating and cumbersome. <br>