Powerback for The DYI Photographer with electronics knoledge

Discussion in 'Lighting Equipment' started by rdm, Jun 20, 2014.

1. rdm

rdm

I have a Metz 48 Af-1. I use it allot , so far I just carry 8 extra batteries, but that has become annoying. I know they do not make a powerpack module for this flash but i was thinking I could at-least make a cheep powerback.
    I have an engineering degree and I am very good with tools and repairs. I hardly ever modify beyond what the factory designed things for. Although I know Metz never intended this flash to be used with a powerpack, we engineers usualy build things with higher than specified tolerances. It might be able to take the extra power.
    Well this Flash problem go me thinking. I know I can make a power cable that fits into the battery compartment (using dowels with screw ends to make the power connection) and Maybe I can use a holder that takes 4 C sided batteries. I know the voltage would be the same as 4 AA batteries but the Ampes would be more.
    My thinking is 1 of 3 things could happen:
    1. I would just have longer battery life and the flash would heat up faster requiring me to turn it off and rest it for a few minutes every so often.
    2. I end up with a slightly faster recycle time and Would have longer battery life and need a rest every 10 minutes.
    3. The flash fires once (or a few times) then everything inside blows.
    OK, Place your bets...

2. None of the above.
    1. The flash circuitry will almost certainly have regulation to prevent it taking more current than it can handle.
    2. The recycle time will be much the same - see (1)
    3. The flash won't know the difference between battery capacities - only their voltage counts. And again see point (1)