Possbile NFL Sideline Chance

ed_farmer

Hello . . . While I have photographed plenty of youth and high school football from the sidelines, I may have the chance to spend a Sunday afternoon on the sidelines at an NFL game year.

I am primarily a wedding/portrait photographer these day and I shoot with a crop system of Nikon D7000 and D7100 bodies. I have an 80-200f2.8 AFS lens and an assortment of fast primes and zooms shorter than that. I also have an old manual focus 300f2.8.

So, if I get this chance, I would like to shoot with the bodies that I'm familiar with and I'm thinking about renting another long lens. For those who shoot college and/or pro ball, should I rent a 300, 400 or 500mm lens? All are available from a local shop that I have done plenty of business with.

I know that the game is going to be bigger and faster than anything I have worked before . . .

For a DX body my choice is 18-140 or 70-200.

I use the 18-140 for day games, where the smaller aperture is not a handicap.

I use the 70-200 for night games, under lights, where the larger aperture lets me shoot at a lower ISO.

Another option for night games is the 24-120 f/4. Smaller zoom range than the 18-140, but 1 stop faster on the long end.

The 18-140 lets you track the action as it gets close to you on the sideline, where the 70-200 would be too long.

BUT, you MUST be VERY CAREFUL, when you follow the action in close. You MUST
GET OUT OF THE WAY
, when they get close to you, or you could get run over and hurt/injured. With the wide 18mm end, it is very easy to misjudge distance and have the players much closer to you than you think.

They out-weigh you and they have padding, you don't.
If you get hit, you loose.

At pro level, they move much faster than high school, so your ability to track fast action will be important. To me that means a medium zoom 70-200 or 80-200.

A longer lens if you want an isolated shot of the QB or other player on the scrimmage line, before the ball is snapped.