susan_flewelling

This next weekend I have a shoot with "big boned people". Just

wondering if any of you have some good ideas for posing. Both bride

and groom are about the same height and width. Pictures would be

appreciated. I think I only have a few ideas and I need to pick up

some more before the shoot. I seem to have problems with this one

area. Of course I want them to look their very best. Thanks

everyone.

I'm no expert but here's my two cents worth...

Make the most of elevation, look down on them and have them look up at you (minimises chins and emphasises face). Use the bouquet to your advantage in this shot.

Try to be slightly higher than them and avoid shooting uphill towards them at all costs.

I tell women to pose with one foot pointing towards the camera and all their weight on their back foot. Rock their hip out and relax. The back shoulder will drop and the body elongates nicely.

Try to focus on faces and expression, but get the full length shots too of course.

Use trees, columns etc to your advantage, also compositions where they are small in the shot ie. Big wide scenery or building shot with B&G a relatively small feature.

These are just some things I thought of quickly, I'm sure others have lots more ideas.<div>00FNJ1-28381484.thumb.jpg.6ceea87bbbed2e1b6e543d85ee18fde7.jpg</div>

The above advice is good. In addition, consider the following:

Use the camera in portrait orientation as much as possible. Tall rectangles provide an

optical illusion that slims, especially if you include a tall vertical element like a tree or

column.

Side or rim spill lighting has a slimming effect. Take advantage of that when you can.

Place the man slightly in front. Beefy guys are okay, beefy brides aren't ... no matter how

others here will howl about being PC, and how some bigger brides are "comfortable" with

their size, it not PC, it's BS ; -) When was the last time a "big boned" bride asked you to

make them look fatter?