Portrait Lense Recommendation for E-500 SLR

ferd_isaac

Hi there!

I am VERY new to the SLR world, let alone photography. :P In any case, I would

like to ask this very knowledgable group as to what Olympus lens they would

recommend that would take the best or good PORTRAIT shots. Please keep in my

mind that a $1200 lens is a little out of my price range at the moment...

Basically, I would like to take modeling shots of people but I do not know

which lens to use for which application.

I currently own the E-500 2 lens Kit. Thanks for the help!

Portraits are done with a range of lenses usually starting with a focal length of 1.5 times the diagonal length of the film or sensor. About 35mm in your case.

At the far end about 2.5 times the diagonal or 90mm.

I would say you have this covered with two zooms unless you need a faster lens either to work in low light or blur backgrounds, which can be blurred on photoshop anyway.

If you still think you need something, the 50 mm f2.0.

Work with what you have for a while.

It depends on what sort of portrait you want, but if you are just starting out, I'd suggest experimenting with the kit lenses until you figure out what you like. For "environmental" portraits, usually you'll want something wide, but the 14mm end of the standard kit lens is probably OK. If you want something a little more dramatic, the 11-22mm is a very nice lens; it runs $600-$700. For head-and-shoulders close-ups, something around 50-75mm should give a nice perspective. You can try either the standard kit lens at full zoom, or the telephoto kit lens at the wider end. I tried the (out-of-production) 40-150mm kit lens for this sort of portrait, but ultimately wasn't happy with it and bought the 50mm. I like it much better, but it'll set you back about $400.

Hey thanks guys! It gives me something to look into for sure... :) From my other research, it looks like I am possibly looking at the 50mm.