Portrait lens for 4x5 press camera

catcher

I'm looking for a portrait lens for a 4x5 press camera (busch pressman D). I'd want something roughly equivalent

to (I know "equivalent" is a loaded word when comparing to 35mm b/c different aspect ratios) 80-100mm on a 35mm

system. I think that would be a lens in the 240mm to 300mm range, but tell me if I'm off here.

I'm new at 4x5 and not a professional. I don't need something expensive, just functional. Movements are nice,

but don't use a whole lot anyway. Mostly landscape/nature photography and perhaps some portraits. So I'd like

something relatively inexpensive, preferably with a shutter already installed. I'm hoping something can be

found for $200 or less. If that's unreasonable than please educate me kindly as I'm really out of my element (no

pun intended) when it comes to 4x5. Still trying to find my way around.

Any recommendations on what to look for?

By the way, I'll be shooting mostly color slide, only a little black and white, if coatings and such make a

difference. And I have a 135mm (roughly close to normal) already. (Wide angle will be next, but let's not get

ahead of ourselves)

I had a 8in and a 15 in Wollensak Tele-raptor that I had running on my Speed Graphics.

I had the 8 incher on a 2x3 Pacemaker and that was fine but the 15 incher on a 4x5 Pacemaker was front heavy and

BARELY fit on a board. These come up on eBay quite often both in barrel and in shutter as well.

The 15 inchers come in single coated? and uncoated I believe. There is a circle around the W to designate coating. Just

google and there is more info, it has been awhile for me.

I've seen them with and without shutters for 75.00 to 125.00 USD lately. Nice for portraits.

Almost forgot, a shorter alternative that is MUCH more managable is the 203mm Ektar.

I had both the earlier 203 anistigmat and the later Ektar version. These are superb wide open and are fairly plentiful. These go

for way under 100.00