Poor Images w/ Canon 50D+17-55 2.8 ?

Discussion in 'Canon EOS' started by t_p|10, Sep 7, 2010.

1. Hey all,

Newbie here with ongoing frustration over the image quality from my Canon 50D w/ Canon 17-55 lens.

I have a 1 yr old 50D and recently purchased 1 17-55 lens however my photos have been average/good at best. Regardless of what setting I use, and where I focus, I just cant get sharp photos. I shoot in jpeg with no post processing (im currently working on learning that element).

When shooting in auto mode, the photos are worse than those taken with my old point and shoot SD1100. Yes, I know....auto mode will normally result in average photos, but surely a $1000 camera body with $1000 lens shouldnt result in poor quality photos even in auto mode.

While Im not a pro, and still getting used to my camera settings, I'm beginning to think my camera/lens need to be serviced. Or is this truly a case of raw/post processing being necessary to get super sharp photos.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks !

Terry
    Chicago