Pocket Wizard Plus II vs Alien Bees

phil_burt

<p>I have read all the recent post on these two and I would like to hear exact opinions concerning these two.<br>

As an amateur that is looking for help in deciding what to get. Equipment now, Nikon D90, SB-600 & SB-900. I do have a Sekonic L-358 light meter, it does have the PW transmitter in it. (Came used that way)<br>

Would you get either the Pocket Wizards or Alien Bees and why. (Knowing that I am an amateur & my equipment, and really want something like this only for the fun of it). <br>

Thanks so much, hopefully I can get this straight in this old mans mind.<br>

phil b<br>

benton, ky</p>

<p>Why not just use the Nikon wireless capability already built into the camera and flashes? I use the Nikon CLS system regularly.</p>

<p>If you're triggering non-CLS (non-iTTL) strobes, unless you need the range of the PW, I'd go with the AB gear - it's reliable and less expensive. I have 4 PWs, but got them for non-iTTL strobes before some of the more recent products from Elinchrom and PCB (Alien Bees) came out on the market.</p>

<p>i've never used PWs, but i have a set of cybersyncs. if your question is along the lines of, do they work and are they worth it? i'd say yes, without hesitation, on both counts. i also have an SB600 and SB900, and frankly i use them with CLS most of the time. but if i need to work 'em with cybersyncs, there's no problem. no complicated setup or anything like that -- they just work. i'm sure the PWs are a good product, too. being more expensive and all, and seeing the positive feedback about the cybersyncs, that's what i went with.</p>

<p>I bought a set of PW Plus IIs, solely because I could trigger them with my L-358 and L-758. I find that feature very desirable, and use it all the time.</p>