Please walk me through using Pentax 67 with flash

b_s13

I apologize that there are a number of threads addressing this already, but they've still left me a bit unclear about my own needs. I want to be specific. I have been a natural light film photographer for a number of years so I have never used flash. I mostly shoot portraiture/fashion editorial kind of work and would like to be able to supplement a flash with natural light or be able to use flash indoors in a way that looks like natural light. It seems like an external flash with a dome modifier would be the best way of going about this.

Since I have all of zero experience in this realm I am hoping some of you can help me out on this! And for the record none of my lenses are leaf shutter, so that's why I'm concentrating on the 1/30th sync speed concern.

Some basic concerns:

I know that the Pentax 67's flash sync is 1/30th of a second and I know that is limiting. However I can't say I exactly understand what this means in relation to flash. I get that I can only shoot with that slow of a shutter speed. Does this mean I need to use a tripod? That my subject will need to be still rather than in action? But won't the flash freeze the subject? I guess I'm unclear how this effects things. I know that it's limiting but I don't know why or how.

Does my camera need to have the hand grip in order to connect to a flash, or is that only for onboard flash? I understand that is a naive question. I am incredibly naive when it comes to this subject haha. I need all of the help and hand holding I can get.

From there what would I need to connect my camera to the flash?