Please help me choose a 6x6 camera

podstawek

<p>Good afternoon (my time!),</p>

<p>I have been photographing for years now. I have lots of experience in 35 mm film photography, and recently in digital full frame. However, recently I find square format very appealing, and often end up cropping rectangles to squares in post processing. After a lot of thinking, I decided to switch from my current 5D to an analog 6x6 system.</p>

<p>Bearing in mind that I:</p>

<p>a) cannot afford a Hasselblad;</p>

<p>b) want higher quality and more features than a Holga can provide;</p>

<p>c) shoot mostly people posing, portraits, and streets with or without people...</p>

<p>...what 6x6 camera would you recommend? I have _almost_ decided on a Yashica D or a similar TLR system, but would love to know your opinions on this or any other 6x6 system, including SLRs. One of the very important factors in my bias towards an old TLR is that it draws attention. I have managed to get into many conversations regarding my current 35 mm Yashica GSN, which often ended in an interesting posed photo. A TLR would attract, I think, even more attention from passers-by, which is a good thing.</p>

<p>But much (really much) depends on your opinions, both regarding the choice of TLR / SLR, as well as individual models. I am completely new to medium format photography, so I would love to hear also any other advice, opinions, warnings, or absolutely anything that you think may be relevant in my current position.</p>

<p>Thank you!</p>

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic