Photos in Switzerland

bruce

I am an avid outdoor photographer. I have done both shows and assignment oriented photography. Each year my partner (wife) and I go on at least 3 "photo adventures." This year, we are going to miss out on one of these trips as we are going to Europe to visit family in the "old country." We will have about 1 free week during this trip. We will be staying in Germany, but plan on doing some photography in the Swiss Alps. Does anyone know about a subject, place, or natural area that we should not miss while we're in the Switzerland/Bavarian area. Your response is greatly appreciated!

regards

bruce

bt_photo@sprynet.com

I lived in Switzerland for a year. Alas, it was before I was serious about photography. There are many beautiful places there. Since the aforementioned thread doesn�t specifically mention the area�..If I had a week I�d spend it in the Berner Oberland (off-season would be best). Interlaken is the jumping-off-point, but you want to be in one of the villages that�s near the beautiful Lauterbrunnen Valley and the famous Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau peaks. I was there in June. The tourists were scarce, the valley was in bloom, the many waterfalls were full, and the snow caps were still deep. I think if I went back today with some wide angle lenses and a bunch of Velvia (and a bunch of SFr. it�s an expensive place) I�d be able to make some nice photographs. At the time I thought I�d created some masterpieces with a Minolta p&s and Ektachrome 200! Ignorance is bliss. Alles Gutes!

Ride the tram to the top of the Schlitthorn for a great 360 degree

view of the Swiss Alps. This is a great vantage point for pictures

of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau.

<p>

The tram leaves from Grindelwald. I'm not sure that the tram runs all

year long. It cost about 65 Swiss Francs two years ago when I was

here.