Photographying WHITE Objects???

timmyp

<p >hello everyone. i am an ametur photographer that is just starting out and could really put my camera to use for my families company who i work for. we are starting a website and i need to take high quality pictures of our products to put on our website. (i'm shooting with a cannon rebel xti) i dont have any other photography equipment other than a tripod.</p>

<p >the products are cabinet doors made out of mdf. the doors are painted with a white gloss. how can i get the best photo of these doors? what color and material of background should i use, positioning of any lighting, what kind of lighting, camera settings and anything else that would help me.</p>

<p >i have attached a quick photograph of a door that isn't painted just to give you an idea of what i'm photographing.</p>

<p >thanks so much.<br>

tim</p>

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>The first thing you should do is buy and read "Light -- Science & Magic" It will teach you what you need to know to do this kind of stuff.</p>

<p>You say you need to take high quality pictures for your company web site. Until you have read, learned, and practiced, I suggest you hire a professional. There is no quick and easy recipe that will get you pro-quality pictures instantly with what you have.</p>

<p>You will need a couple of studio strobes with stands and softboxes. You will need a backdrop of some kind, in a neutral color that doesn't clash with the cabinet door colors. You'll need a solid tripod and cable release. And it's often helpful to have a laptop so you can shoot tethered, seeing your images on the computer screen immediately after taking them.</p>

<p>BTW, photonet doesn't accept attachments, you need to put it inline in a post (which happens after you write the post) or host it somewhere and put a link in the post.</p>

<p>Good luck</p>

<p> </p>