Photography-related New Year's Resolutions?

Discussion in 'Casual Photo Conversations' started by hannahthiem, Jan 24, 2011.

1. Now that we're a few weeks into 2011, would love to know what your New Year's Resolutions (photography-related)
    are, and if you've been able to stick to them so far.

2. I recently created a home studio for indoor photography. My one New Year's Resolution this year was to set this room up, and to really focus my photography energy on people photography, especially portraits. I have been diligently at it for a few weeks now...and I feel I am coming along quite nicely. I have a large room set up with quality equipment, and I am learning about lighting people properly. Slowly but surely, and self-taught, like everything about the art for me, I will get this aspect of photography down. My kids hope it's sooner than later, because they are getting a little bored with me photographing them all the time ;)

3. My resolution is to get out and shoot more and to get off the "equipment geek" bandwagon.
    I plan to go on shoots at least once a week whether rain, sleek, hail or snow !

4. New Year's Resolution are...
    • I will learn how to use a new feature on my camera
    • I will not use "auto" setting on camera
    • I will turn off camera before changing lenses
    • I will shoot in RAW and learn how to process shots
    • I will organize and back-up my photos
    • I will make a coffee table book of my photos
    • I will give my sensor a good cleaning

5. For the second straight year I resolved to shoot no film. I fell off that wagon last year when I bought an old film camera for nostalgic reasons, and shot one roll. Then I bought another and shot one roll. Then I sold them both. No film this year.

6. I have resolved to print more. The problem I'm having right now is that I've done so little photography since New Years Eve that I don't have anything to print.