.photography or .photos

<p>Hello! I'm really interested in the thought process behind a URL. We're so programmed to use .com, .net, .org, etc. With GoDaddy releasing domains such as .photography, it really opens up a window of change in terms of domain names for photography businesses and galleries. </p>

<p >Are any of you considering purchasing a .photography or .photos URL for your business? <br /><br />Have you recently purchased one? <br /><br /><br /></p>

<p>[[GoDaddy releasing domains such as .photography]]</p>

<p>GoDaddy had nothing to do with the release of new gTLD's. The organization, ICANN, is responsible. GoDaddy will simply sell you the temporary access to use one. </p>

<p>The most important consideration in any business domain name is how Google will consider it. For example, if I was a photographer in Phoenix I would be much better off with phoenixphotographyguy.com than with JoeSmithphotography.com. </p>

<p>It remains to be seen how Google will consider the .whatever names. I always heard that .com gets the most weight. I could be completely wrong on this. </p>

<p>Search engine optimization is the biggest consideration in any website. I believe I could make very good case for asserting that economically one would be better off with mediocre content and good SEO than the opposite.</p>

<p>You could check the SEO forums and see what they are saying. I really don't know the answer but I suspect a good SEO person could tell you how to get the most bang for your buck. </p>

<blockquote>

<p>We're so programmed to use .com, .net, .org, etc.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>We're only that because they are the original and oldest top level domain names, mixed with the US quirk that the .us TLD never caught on. The rest of the world has always already been used to the country-specific TLDs as well (in fact, people look at me confused because I use a hotmail.com address instead of a hotmail.it like the rest of this country).<br>