Photographing Paintings

ppenguin

I am an artist working in oil paint and would like to photograph my work so I can produce prints. My largest work is 24 x 36 inches and needs to be photographed in sections. After much research on the web I bought two soft box lights (not expensive) and attempted to photograph my work using a canon 350 D with 18-55mm IS lens set to 50mm and mirror lock up on a 2second delay. I have used a small mirror to get the camera perpendicular to the paintings, this works very well, The set up is shown in the attached photograph. I am shooting at F11, 1/20sec, ISO100. I have used Photo shop 6 to stitch sections of painting back together.

A few observations so far --

I have used large amount of overlap in this process.

I have used camera raw to correct for light fall off around circumference of the pictures.

I have tried custom white balance settings and also using PTFE tape to get a white balance setting this seems to work well.

Reflections off the paint surface have not been a problem so far, so I have not used filters.

The results are quite good but not as good as the Epson expression 11000 XL scans I have had done professionally for previous prints. I now live far away from anywhere I know of that can scan paintings and don't like sending them by post.

The hardest pictures to get good results with are pictures containing large areas of pale graduated sky, there is a slight color and tone difference, having said that it is fairly subtle but it is noticable.

This was just really just testing to see what sort of results I can get with the 350D.

I was also considering getting a data color spider checker 24 to assist the printer and balancing the colors.

The soft box lights were advertised as 1250 W, 125w equivalent CFL lights but do not appear to put out out much light really.