Photographer Striped Of Award

Photographer Stripped of Award

Perhaps not having someone else press the shutter button on selfie photos up for awards and using a wireless remote shutter with timer could save some embarrassing grief. :( But it's may camera. :oops: Sorry, still no. :mad:But what if I am a professional photographer and my paid assistant pressed the shutter button. Hmmm, still no, and you should know better. o_O This isn't a monkey took the photo with my camera story. :confused:

Link

Edited by Mark Keefer
  • Like 1
Cheers, Mark

Thanks for sharing! The article and especially the comments underneath - including those by Clancy Debbler Davies - are illuminating.

To what extent William Corbett really made 'creative decisions' as opposed to competently operating a camera based on feedback from Clancy Debbler Davies, who knows? From her comments she has on-set witnessses in her favor.

On the other hand - despite the fact that the photographer was recommended by friends - she should have tied up the 'image ownership and copyright' issues in the contract with William Corbett. This would have avoided the discussion. A hard lesson to learn.

It's possible the BJP withdrew the award so as not to become involved in legal twists.

FWIW, I can't imagine still and especially film/video camera operators in many similar situations claiming 'ownership rights' when they worked under various layers of 'directors'.

The concept of 'who pressed the button is the author' is outdated but stiĺl the default. A good example of the need to nail down the ownership and copyright issues via contracts.

• Like 1