Photographer job offer, but im not sure... please help (a tad long).

brandonhamilton

Hello everybody, I was wondering if you all could lend me some advice. This

past week I was contacted by a large national wedding photography and

videography company for a job. I haven't actually been offered the position

yet, but they seem pretty impressed and are ready to move foward. They sent me

a copy of the contract that everybody signs, as well as the company's

requirements when I shoot. Basically, I would be a contracted photographer.

The company gets all the work, then assigns different shoots to different

photographers that work for them.

Well, I am a very part time photographer and everything I have done has been

via word of mouth, so I only do a handfull a year. I thought to my self, that

this could be a decent opportunity to gain even more experience, and of course

a few extra bucks on some weekends.

But I have some reservations about the terms, and I was hoping I could generate

a converstation about it:

1.) it states that it would absolutely be required that I shoot a very minimum

of 1000 images, and would be required to present between 500 and 525 final

pics, no more, no less, for an 8 hour wedding. I don't know about all of you,

but I am not the kind of photographer that just shoots anything in front of me

non-stop in hopes of "Getting" something that is a keeper. I prefer the

quality over quantity method. When I normally shoot a wedding, I usually

capture about 600 images, and end up with about 200 that are really good, after

getting rid of the duplicates, blinks, goofy faces, etc. 200 has in the past

been just plenty. Am I crazy in thinking that "requiring" 1000 images to be

taken is crazy? I think I would end up with 500-600 shots at the end of the

night, and would find myself in a panic trying to get 400 shots of people

dancing on the dance floor as the party died down. Seems crazy.