pet portraits

kimangeline.l

<p>I am a beginning photographer, just looking to experiment and discover what I like to shoot. I will be taking some pictures of my neighbors dog - a beautiful golden lab. Brandy ( the dog) is getting old and sicker and I hope to take a really good shot that my neighbor will have to remember her by. I have a Canon EOS Rebel XS with a 28-90mm lens ( which I think is good enough since the picture will be taken indoors). i also have a Canon Speedlite 430EXII flash. I;d like any input on how to make this session produce some good results.<br>

thanks!<br>

Kim</p>

<p>Raw meat. I am not kidding. Have the owner hold up something the dog likes out of camera range. My experience tells me you will get some bright eyed, eager looks for the camera. I really like to do animal head shots. Yes I do think they have expressions. I once had a Shepherd who had the best "screw you" look at me as he was about to break heel and then take-off down the beach only returining when he damn well felt like it. That over he would then be perfectly obedient. </p>

<p>Just FYI, it's either a yellow Lab, or a Golden Retriever - they are two different breeds and if you are even thinking of doing this seriously... well, you get the point.<br>

Okay, back to your question. The mistake a lot of beginners make is shooting at a downward angle onto the dog. Get down onto the floor and shoot from the dog's level. For a shot like you are describing the focus whould be on her expression, through her eyes and that is best captured with her not having to look up. I've got some shots in my portfolio here that illustrate that. Good luck with this - it's a tough assignment because it's difficult sometimes to capture their soul. Just out of curiousity, you say the photos will be shot inside. Any reason not to shoot outdoors?</p>